Under pressure

Could my posts be more boring these days? All I have to report is that I was up in the middle of the night fretting, and used those hours to add the Amtmandens Døttre section to chapter 1. I worked hard on how I framed it, and I think it addresses the problems my colleague had with it in an earlier draft. I spent most of the morning doing a read-through of that chapter for flow, and declared it done enough.

In the afternoon I did the cut-and-paste for chapter 4, and just barely finished it by the time I had to head home. I got pretty far into my read-through, and I have a sneaking suspicion that I’m going to need to add a section on Nils Johan Rud’s Kvinnen og jakten after all. I was hoping that I wouldn’t have to, but I’ve been cutting pretty dramatically as I go through the chapter. There was just so much random, extraneous analysis. I like the first section (on Arne Næss), and the section on Sigurd Hoel works better now that I took out the most egregious babbling. I got as far as the Gunnar Larsen section, and the jury’s still out on whether that works.

I’ll finish the read-through in the morning, and then spend the rest of the day on the last chapter. I have kind of a crazy idea that I might be able to bang out a few hundred words  of the new Dag Solstad section along the way (I finished re-reading the novel yesterday, BTW), though that might not be realistic, given my time constraints.

Leave a Reply

