Change afoot

I finished off the edits to chapter four today, and also got a good ways into chapter five by the end of the day. Unfortunately, I also discovered that one of the sections in chapter five really doesn’t fit as well as I’d like it to, and I’m now seriously considering taking it out entirely and replacing it with something different. The part that doesn’t fit is the Når nettene blir lange analysis that I’ve also worked up into an article that will be coming out in a journal later this year. As I read through the chapter, I was disappointed with the analysis because A) it didn’t really relate at all to the other sections, and B) the version in the article is so much better because it goes deeper and relates the cabin to other specific cultural elements that I don’t have the space for in the book chapter.

So I’m going to think it through this weekend, and then pick up a copy of one of the books I am considering replacing it with–Dag Solstad’s Armand V–on Monday. I may also consider referencing Erlend Loe’s Dopplereven though the protagonist uses a tent rather than a cabin in that one. Doppler was in my original fellowship proposal–I see the “lack” of a cabin as a kind of late-modern ironic statement about cabins. In both Armand V and Doppler the older male protagonists seek to heal their sons in the wilderness, which seems like a theme that would fit in well with the rest of the chapter.

I’m not exactly happy to have to do such a major change, but I know it’s going to bother me if I don’t.

Leave a Reply

