Landing

I returned to my workspace at the Centre for Ibsen Studies today after a very full sojourn in the US that included both a family visit and participation in the SASS conference in San Francisco. The conference was great. I didn’t hear all that many papers as I was a bit under the weather, but nearly all of the ones I heard were stimulating and well thought out. I met a few new people whom I hope to get to know better in the future, and touched bases with folks I know from before, which was super fun. It was a little awkward, though,  since everyone I talked with wanted to know all about my job situation, and there’s really nothing I can tell them at this point. but other than all those questions I had a really nice time.

I’ve been picking away at the Meyer article for the seminar at the end of this month, and today I did a bunch of database searches trying to figure out how to access reviews of the Meyer play that I’m focusing on, A Meeting in Rome. I contacted the two theaters where it was staged, as well as the British Library, and have looked at a database called the Scottish Theatre Archive, which appears to have the program that includes the production of the play staged at the Edinburgh Festival in 1994. I haven’t quite figured out how to request anything from that database—before I could my day got cut off by a planning meeting for the super secret project I’m working on with a couple of colleagues. As usual, though, the librarian at the Centre for Ibsen Studies was astoundingly helpful, and by mid day she had located a recording of the BBC radio version of the play for me, and it was short enough that I could listen to the whole thing in one go. It varied only very little from the printed version of the play, which is good to know.

The next two days are school holidays, so I won’t be able to get much work done until next week, but at least I’ve got the ball rolling, and the stuff I’ve been working on is all relevant to the book project, so I feel like I’m making progress. One of the people I talked with the most at the conference is actually the person I need to submit the book proposal to at my first choice for a publisher, so it was good to touch bases with him and get a firm deadline for when he needs the proposal.

The tableaux vivants project I was toying with last month, however, really isn’t getting off the ground. I don’t quite know what to do with it. My sense is that the July first deadline for an article submission is totally unrealistic, especially considering that I have the Fruen fra havet article to revise plus a book review to write in the next few weeks, in addition to the seminar paper on Meyer. Can’t do everything, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

