Optimistic

So today I had much more movement on the actual lecture. I nailed down most of the slides and the order of things, and have something that I could in a pinch present as is. Of course I plan to do tons of polishing and fiddling over the next few days, but for now I at least know I have a deliverable lecture, albeit one with massive room for improvement.

Toward the end of the day I met up with a colleague for a break and chat, and she was extremely generous in giving me feedback on what I had. Her suggestions were spot on (and easy fixes too), so that was incredibly helpful.

In the course of our conversation we were talking about the new journal, Romantik: Journal for the Study of Romanticisms, which has a July deadline for article submissions. One of the things I’m most interested in exploring is mid nineteenth-century national romantic tableaux vivants, and I think that would be an appealing topic for Romantik (If not them, then who?). There is shockingly little research published on tableaux vivants (at least that I can find), and it was such a popular form of entertainment; it seems to me to be a hugely interesting thing to investigate, though I fear there is so little documentation left that it will be hard. I got so excited that I banged out an introductory paragraph just to nail down the idea for the article for later. Yay, fun!

Words written: 320

Leave a Reply

