Patience

Well crap. It happened. I was humming along nicely, plugging in the last bits and pieces of the Næss/Dahl article, and skimming the material on the biopic genre when it happened–I stumbled upon the study of biographical drama that I knew had to be out there somewhere, even though I hadn’t been able to find it in over a month of searching. And just my luck the library has it but it’s checked out. The book is Ursula Canton’s Biographical Theatre: Re-Presenting Real People?  It sounds perfect for this project, but who knows when I’ll be able to get my hands on it.

I am eternally grateful that I didn’t find out about this after having submitted the article, of course, but it still really stinks to have thought that I would be able to submit it today but will now have to wait weeks. This is one of those situations where my lack of patience can be really tough to keep under control.

So anyway, I found an online excerpt of the book that includes some pages from the bibliography, so I’m going to go through that and gather references to pursue while I wait (patiently!) for the book to come in. Here’s the beginnings of a bibliography:

  • Canton, Ursula. Biographical Theatre: Re-Presenting Real People? Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
  • Forsyth, Alison and Chris Megson, eds. Get Real: Documentary Theatre Past and Present. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
  • Huber, Werner and Martin Middeke. “Biography in Contemporary Drama.” Contemporary Drama in English: Drama and Reality. Ed. Bernhard Reitz. Trier: WVT, 1995. 133-143.
  • Meyer-Dinkgräfe, Daniel. “The Artist as Character in Contemporary British Bio-Plays.” The Professons in Contemporary Drama. Ed. Daniel Meyer-Dinkgräfe Bristol: Intellect, Ltd., 2003. 87-100

So it goes in literary scholarship…

Leave a Reply

