Vacation mode

Not a heck of a lot to report, given that this is winter break for my family. I just moments ago submitted a book review that I was asked to do for the journal Scandinavian Studies, and yesterday I received another request to do a book review, this time for Edda. Since it’s Edda (the top journal in my field) and since it’s an Ibsen-related book that I just recently read (and liked!) it was basically impossible for me to say no.

None of this is getting me anywhere with research, of course. I consider book reviews to be more or less the academic equivalent of doing volunteer work or making a charitable donation. It contributes to the greater good.

After a week off from research, I’m going to have to do some contortions to get back into the swing of the Næss/Dahl article. I think the first thing I need to do is read Michael Meyer’s play about Ibsen, Sommeren i Gossensass, which means reading it on the premises of the National Library, since it’s not available for checking out. Knowing that the play is out there still unread makes it impossible for me to go forward with my analysis of Sensommer and Henrik og Emilie; what if its contents totally change what I should be saying about the other two texts? I have it requested, and if it comes in I’ll go to the reading room first thing on Monday.

I think this leaves me with two tasks to complete before 1 March (Friday!!): the Næss/Dahl article and a promotion review for someone in another country. I’m kind of nervous about starting the new book project–it’s been a long time since I thought about it, and I have no idea whether it’s going to work or not.

Leave a Reply

