Meandering

750px-Hilton_of_Cadboll_stone_detail_petley_1812_Pl12_labyrinth

This was another light day of academic meandering while unemployed: I read Jon Fosse’s short play Suzannah, critiqued a paper for a grad student from my alma mater, evaluated two student exams for another university (the students are appealing their grades), took a stab at unravelling a bureaucratic mess with the unemployment office (and failed), and did a wee bit of polishing on the conference paper on De fire store. I guess when I list it like that it seems like a lot, so I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that I feel brain dead this evening.

I’m not quite sure what to do tomorrow. My inclination is to say that the conference paper is done for now (I’ll do more polishing when it gets closer to the conference in May) and turn to the Næss and Dahl article. It’s interesting how different Sensommer and Henrik og Emilie are from the Fosse play, despite having the same general theme. One really striking difference is the fact that the Næss and Dahl texts highlight Ibsen’s corporeality, while his body is entirely absent from Suzannah. What I’m interested is how Ibsen’s physical body is represented in these texts, which makes Fosse’s play only peripherally relevant as a point of comparison.

ETA: I forgot to add the link to the Scandinavian Studies session at next year’s MLA Convention, which will be in Chicago. I haven’t been to the MLA in years, and kind of want to go, but this topic–interesting as it is–doesn’t really jive with any of my current work. Here’s hoping the topic will be more in line with my interests for the 2015 conference (which has the added advantage of taking place in fabulous Vancouver, BC!!!).

Leave a Reply

