Bummer

This day kind of collapsed in upon itself. I had meetings with students dispersed through the morning, so I didn’t get an uninterrupted span of time to get into the writing groove. The only thing I managed was a little fiddling with a new introductory paragraph for the seter chapter.

I also had the appointment at the Directorate for Cultural Heritage to look at Norske folkelivsbilleder (definitely spelled with a “v” and not an “f”). The book run was disappointing. It turns out that the Bjørnson texts is just a reprint of “Et farligt Frieri,” and not as I had hoped some unknown seter text. The editors of HIS just didn’t recognize the short story, apparently. They were right that the orthography is incredibly funky though. What was Bjørnson thinking?

After that I came home to do some writing and just collapsed and slept for over two hours. I don’t really know what happened, but I’ve been having a lot of trouble getting a full night’s sleep for the past few weeks, and I guess it just caught up with me.

Leave a Reply

