Intensity

I kind of didn’t know I had it in me, but today I basically wrapped up both the conference proceedings article revisions and the grant proposal that I only found out about yesterday. Both are due on Monday, and before 3pm on Friday I have drafts of both that could be submitted right now in a pinch. I’ll sit on them over the weekend and tweak them some more on Monday, of course, but it’s good to know that they’re basically good to go now.

The grant proposal idea really surprised me. It just came pouring out of I’m not sure where–I seem to have been building up a reservoir of material for a more popular or pedagogically-oriented book on Ibsen adaptations without really even being aware of it. This particular funding source specified non-scholarly projects, and that seems to have been all the prompting I needed to get the ideas going. Now, whether the proposal I came up with is actually worth funding is quite another matter, but the process of writing it was really exciting.

It also felt good to deal with all the nagging details on the Gatas Gynt article for the proceedings volume. I woke up this morning with the realization that if I added just a little bit of adaptation theory (specifically Linda Hutcheon), it would make the article much more useful for our students here at UiO. All I did was make explicit how what I was doing is adaptation analysis of the kind outlined in Hutcheon, but I really do think guideposts like that help students recognize what’s going on.

So, Monday is for polishing and submitting these two projects, Tuesday is for class preparation, and the rest of the week will be devoted to Når nettene blir lange, which I haven’t looked at or thought about in ages. It will be weird to pick it up again after so long, but maybe the break will bring renewed insights? One can always hope, but I fear deathly silence!

Leave a Reply

