Input

So, no research or writing over the weekend, and none today, mostly because of the Ibsen Between Cultures seminar that has been taking place. This was a really nice event to round off a large research project that I wish I had been a part of. I got to know some of the people I met briefly at the Ibsen Conference in Tromsø a little better. It’s a really interesting group of people, and I have to admit to a really naive but genuine enjoyment over learning smatterings about the cultural practices from other cultures that come through in the various adaptations. Today I heard about cross-dressing in China, suicide in China, and political unrest and ethnic traditions in Manipur. Yesterday it was Hong Kong cinema, Bengali drama, and a quantitative approach to performance analysis across cultures.

As of tomorrow it’s back to the grindstone; I have a ton of class prep work to get through for lectures on Wednesday and Thursday. I’m not even really sure where to go next in terms of writing goals. I think what I probably need to do first is work on the cabin book revisions, especially the section on Når vi døde vågner, which was one of the weakest according to the feedback I got a few weeks back. It’s a good place to start, because I think it’s one of those sections where I know exactly why I think it relates to the Foucauldian notion of the heterotopia, but I don’t say anything about that issue at all in the manuscript. So maybe my plan for Thursday after teaching should be to re-read the Foucault lecture (“On Other Spaces”) and chapter 3 of the cabin book, and see where that gets me. On Friday I’m going to catch a free performance of Disabled Peer at the National Theater mid-day, so that’s exciting, but it will mean that I won’t really have a full stretch of writing time, so I’ll just have to make the best of things.

Also, I suspect it’s about time to send off an email to the publisher that is evaluating my Peer Gynt book to ask about when I might expect a response…

Leave a Reply

