Descriptive

Today was a productive day, thought I didn’t manage to wrap up the Fruen fra havet article. The first three sections (intro, historical overview, and discussion of the stage directions) are more or less done, but the last section, which goes through the scenography in seven performances, is still really weak.

I seem to be having this problem lately with not really analyzing the texts I’m working on. I end up skating on the surface, producing mere description without any synthesis (or real point). This is distressing, to say the least, and I’m not quite sure exactly how to fix it. I guess I need to go back to the source material. Maybe I need some kind of theoretical leverage? I should probably go back to Issacharoff (or something on the sublime?) to see if there’s anything there about spectacle and use of space that I can apply to these productions.

In addition to working on the article, I spent a little time tracking down archival stuff. I got in touch with the National Library Archives (in Mo i Rana), which has the National Theater’s performance archive, and have arranged to have additional pictures sent to me next week. Maybe access to these will help bring about more interesting analysis?  I also got in touch with the Gyldendal publishing house in Denmark about the 1914 collected works of Ibsen, Bjørnson, Kielland and Lie, and the fellow there said that he would keep my questions in mind–apparently their archives are closed for a while, but he thought he might be able to help anyway. There’s no hurry on that project, thankfully.

So, the plan now is to take the necessary time next week to really round of the Fruen fra havet article, and then start working on revising the cabin book. The first step there is to go back to Foucault.

Words written: 527

Leave a Reply

