Clearing the decks

Jacques Lafitte and his crew clear the decks of the Indiaman, 1837

The primary goal for today was to finalize my job application and submit it electronically. I’ve been working on this for so long that it was pretty anticlimactic to press “send.” But the most important thing is that I’ve done absolutely everything I can to make the strongest application possible, and now it’s all out of my hands. I wish I could just forget about the whole thing for a few months, though I fear I’ll be brooding over it a least a little.

Next up was more preparations for the seminar I’m teaching this fall. The more I do the more excited I am about the topic, so I hope I get a few more students. So far only seven have signed up.

I then had a long working lunch with two colleagues. We mostly talked about curriculum and publication issues. Then to finish off the day I finally cobbled together my abstract for a paper for The Journal of Scandinavian Cinema’s upcoming special issue on Scandinavian cinema and Christmas. I’ve been thinking about this for a long time, but just hadn’t gotten around to writing it up. The article would be a major expansion of the short section on that film from the cabin book. I think it would be a really fun project, so I hope it gets accepted.

The International Ibsen Festival at the National Theater starts up very soon! I’m hoping to get tickets to at least all the Peer Gynts, and I hope a few other productions as well. Fun!

Next week will be low on research because of a gap in child care. The plan is mostly to prep more for my class and work on the Dahl & Næss article.

Leave a Reply

