Criminal

I spent Monday and Tuesday prepping for my upcoming class on crime fiction. Finalizing the secondary readings for the course actually got me pretty jazzed up about teaching it. As always, it’s incredibly had to decide on which primary texts to choose to represent a much larger corpus, but I think I have a list that will be fun to work with and generate some good discussion about genre expectations and the cultural contexts in which they were written.

I’m still polishing my job application, which is due Friday. A friend from another department who is also American read through it and gave me feedback that suggests the application is pretty much as good as it’s going to get. Today I have things to do at home, and tomorrow I’ll enter the application into the electronic submission portal (cutting and pasting from my prepared documents) and then try to finish up an article proposal for Journal of Scandinavian Cinema by the end of the day Friday, just so I can claim to have completed something on my long list of things to do.

Leave a Reply

