Milestone

The book is finished! Or at least a complete draft that clocks in at just over 66,000 words is. I spent today implementing all the small corrections I found on Wednesday’s read-through. There were a few sections that I know aren’t totally finished– they lack a final sentence or in some cases paragraph to round them off and link them to the other sections–but I’m just not at a place right now where I can do that. My goal was just to get a smooth  first draft together to send to the colleague who has promised to read it. it’s now tucked away in his mailbox at work, and I can’t wait to hear what he says about it when we meet in August.

After such an intense period of writing it feels very weird to no longer have the book hanging over me. But it’s not like there aren’t other things to take its place. Yesterday I got word that the long awaited job opening has finally been advertized with a very short deadline, so I’ll be focusing all my attention on that up until when we leave for vacation on the 27th. And of course I’m flying up to Tromsø on Monday to spend the week there at the Ibsen conference. Can’t wait for that! Unfortunately I have a bunch of grading I need to take care of while I’m there, in addition to an article that needs revision, which kind of puts a damper on things.

I spent a lot of time yesterday and today working out technical stuff too. I bought a new laptop, which will be great to have along at the conference. It will make for better visuals at my presentation, and will allow me to do the revising (if and only if I get my grading done first…).

Leave a Reply

