Sustained

Much to my delight and relief, today was almost as productive in terms of writing as yesterday. It followed a similar pattern, with a couple of breaks to chat with colleagues, but otherwise a full-on confrontation between me, my computer, and a stack of books. By the end of the day I was onto page 20 of the chapter, so things are starting to come together pretty well.

As planned, I filled out the section on Munnen i gresset, and am okay with it for now. I had less success with the small section on Løveid’s Østerrike. I read it only last week, but somehow I have almost no memory of it, and couldn’t find any of the motifs that I was hoping to find, at least not just by skimming. So, ugh, I have to go back and re-read it. I should have taken notes (it’s a library book, so I couldn’t write in it, which is my usual practice). Instead, I turned to Nærum’s Døde menn går på ski, which I reread on Monday, in between hanging out with my family. I wasn’t sure that I would be able to make much of it, but once I started writing I found a few relevant things, and then suddenly it occurred to me that it would be the perfect place to add a small section on the whole Norwegian “Påskekrim” (Easter crime) phenomenon. It’s been a thing since the 1920s to launch new crime fiction in time for the long Easter break, so that people can take the books with them to read while on vacation up in the mountains. There has been surprisingly little written about it, though there are a few scholarly references I’ll be able to draw upon.

The last thing I did was take a glance at the Ut og stjæle hester section. I guess I had thought it was a lot more complete than it is. I added a few obvious and necessary additions right away, but it’s clear that I’ll need to go back to that text again too.

My plan for tomorrow is to work from home. First I’ll watch Når nettene blir lange again, and then try to draft a section on that for the rest of the day, and do some other reading. I’m a fair way into Larssen’s I engelens munn, and I have to admit I’m not finding it particularly relevant so far. But I’ll try to finish it at least.

Words written: 2055

Leave a Reply

