Breaking ground

Even though my original plan for today was to keep going on the Fruen fra havet article, for some reason I got it into my head that it would be more productive (and symbolically satisfying) to try to get started on the introduction to the fifth (and final!) chapter of the cabin book. I had been reading Gunnar Stavrum’s biography of Kjell Inge Røkke over the weekend, and I knew I wanted to use Røkke’s “hyttepalass” (cabin-palace) at Oppdal as the introduction to the issues in this chapter, so I figured I should just give it a try when I got into work today. Much to my delight, it flowed really smoothly, and I got four pages down that map out the major conceptual and historical issues at stake in the chapter. I think this chapter is going to be really fun to write. I love the material I’ll be analyzing.

This means that I am at a grand total of 159 manuscript pages for the book as of 1 May. I only wrote a total of 26 pages in the month of April, which doesn’t sound like a lot, but I only need about the same amount in May in order to have a full draft of all five analysis chapters, so the end really is in sight. Actually, if I can just get that, the Fruen fra havet article, and the two book reviews I need to write by the end of June, I’ll be really happy. Then for July I just have to revise a conference paper for publication–easy work for the four-week vacation, right? And then when I get back from the states, I’d love it if I can complete the cabin book introduction and conclusion by the first of September. I think that’s a doable schedule, and I’ll still have four months from September through December to work on other things before my fellowship runs out (and my academic career grinds to a halt)…

Words written: 1271

Leave a Reply

