Coming together

I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked today to work on chapter four, but I did get a couple of important things accomplished. First I sketched out the new addition of the Arne Næss introductory paragraphs. I also sketched out a brief section on Johan Borgen’s Noveller om kjærlighet, which I decided to include after all. And, most importantly, I printed out the whole chapter and gave it a read through.

I was a little apprehensive about that, as the writing process has been so piecemeal, but actually it’s not as bad as I feared. The redundancies should be pretty easy to clean up, and the voice/style is consistent throughout. My biggest challenge will be rounding off each section in a way that functions as a passable transition to the next. It’s hard to write about so many different texts (fully eight novels and two short stories!!!) coherently, and without being far too simplistic.

I made a lot of notes on my read through, and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get through all of them tomorrow, when I have no other commitments. I’ll come in to campus to do it, as I don’t want to get sucked into any domestic distractions. If I’m lucky and diligent, I may just be able to claim a completed chapter draft by the end of Thursday! That would be spectacular!

Words written: 763

Leave a Reply

