Windfall

My son stayed home sick from school today, so I really wasn’t expecting to get anything done at all today. Happily, I actually ended up doing quite a bit! First thing this morning I put together a first draft of the conference abstract that’s due next week and sent it off to a colleague for feedback. She thought it looked really good. It’s a relief that I have something, and also that I’ll have a few more days to really polish that something.

Since my husband didn’t have to go into work until fairly late, we split the day, and I got in a couple of hours of reading. I managed to finish re-reading Gunnar Larsen’s first novel, I sommer (1932). I spend the day hanging out with my son, and then when my husband came home I retreated to my office to write. Much to my surprise and delight, I banged out over a thousand words at one go! It’s nothing earth-shattering, but it needed to be done. I found quite a few things in the novel that I could relate to analyses elsewhere in the cabin book, so that’s at least a start.

All in all, I figure that today was really a work windfall. Very satisfying!

Words written: 300 + 1240

Leave a Reply

