Out of my hair

I just sent off my revision of the article on Bjørnson’s “sæterromantik” to on of the editors of the Bjørnson book that is being assembled. He has promised to give me fairly speedy feedback as to whether my revisions were what they had in mind. I really hope it is! I had to make the revision quick and dirty, but I have to admit that I’m delighted to have finally made time to expand the article, as I think the new material (on “Et farligt Frieri,” “Brude-Slaatten,” and Daglannet)  strengthens the analysis. We shall see…

I’m held up a bit on the Byatt article as I wait for guidelines on the citation formatting. I’m also held up getting started on preparing an abstract for a conference on the graphic novel in September because the first volume of the two books I want to write about is still on order. So right now I’m a little at loose ends trying to figure out how to make the most out of the rest of my day here on campus. I’m thinking of working from home tomorrow, so I want to make sure I have everything lined up that I’ll need for that.

I feel like there’s just so much going on right now that I can hardly keep on top of everything I need to think about. I have a job application out, and am waiting anxiously to find out if I’m called for an interview (I should hear in April). It was a position I was a little skeptical about applying for in the beginning, but the more I think about it the more ideal it sounds, and I have begun brainstorming projects I could work on that would fit into the larger research project that I would be working within. It’s a little to early to write about the ideas publicly, but I’m excited about formulating them to discuss at an interview, if I’m lucky enough to be invited. I’m also excited (but a little apprehensive) about the graphic novel project, which would focus on Øystein Runde and Geir Moen’s De fire store books. I need to come up with a theoretical perspective that will work as a point of departure. Maybe “genius studies,” which I came across when reading a Ph.D. research proposal a few weeks back? And then, of course, there’s the professor position here in the department that still hasn’t been advertised. I just heard that they are really hoping to have the position filled by 1 January 2013, and it sounds like the advertisement should be announced sometime in April. That gives them a pretty short turn around (on the Norwegian academic time line), but I suppose it’s good for me that the deadlines will be short, since I already basically have a completed application ready (it helps to have seen an early draft of what the advertisement is going to look like).

There’s also been a bit of an uproar hear locally because of a plagiarism case here in the department. There’s a write-up of the case here (in Norwegian), and it’s just really unfortunate all around. The professor in question was simply a little too sloppy with his notes. I know he didn’t do it on purpose, and that he feels terrible about it. It’s just a nightmare for him, and it’s what I think we all (at least all of us who care about the ethics of scholarly work) live in constant fear of doing.

Words written: 471

P.S. I just noticed this summary of one of my guest lectures in the UK from last week. Fun to see!

Leave a Reply

