Pastiche

I got through the section on romantic drama in Gjervan’s book, and found it incredibly useful in thinking about Ibsen. I think it’s going to be really relevant for my lecture on Fruen fra havet in London next month, actually. It’s always a treat when something turns out to be useful.

I wasn’t able to get any other work done, though, because I spent the entire day writing a “takk for maten” speech for tomorrow’s work banquet. For some reason, I decided to write a pastiche of the opening of Petter Dass’ “Nordlands Trompet.” I’m really nervous about it, but something tells me it might just work. It’s a huge relief to have finished the speech today, which means I won’t have to spend tomorrow agonizing over it as well–I had budgeted two days for it. Now I can actually get back to work on the Peer Gynt revisions.

Leave a Reply

