Details

This is my last week with three classes to teach for this semester (still have a few more weeks with two classes). I’m ending it with a bang with a lecture on poststructuralist literary criticism, using Deleuze and Guattari as my example. That will happen tomorrow, today, other that lecturing on Undset’s Kransen, I’ll be preparing frantically for that lecture. All this means that I don’t really have time for research until Wednesday afternoon.

Therefore, I consider myself very lucky that I was able to carve out some time on the commute home last night and early this morning (thanks to the switch to daylight savings I’m getting up far too early these days) to work on the Byatt article.

On the boat ride home I read through a print out of what I have, and made some minor corrections. It’s getting to the point where I’m mostly focusing on transitions and fine-tuning the wording, though there is still one big chunk on the citations that I’ll need to fill out on Thursday and Friday. I also skimmed an article that I picked up at the library yesterday:

  • Bronfen, Elisabeth. “Risky Resemblances: On Repetition, Mourning, and Representation.” Death and Representation. Ed. Sarah Webster Goodwin and Elisabeth Bronfen. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins UP, 1993. 103-129.

This was very helpful for the section on postmortem photography, and this morning I was able to add and discuss a relevant quote to help clarify what I’m trying to say. I also did the easy corrections from my proofread.

In other research news, my revised conference paper on André Øvrelid’s Trolljegeren is going to appear in the next issue of the journal Scandinavica. I’m very excited about that, since I’ve already received requests from a couple of colleagues who heard me give the talk  to use it in teaching. It won’t count as a peer reviewed article (it will be in the “notes” section), but I guess it doesn’t hurt get some exposure in this format too.

Words written: 244

Leave a Reply

