Ka-pow!

Wow, big breakthroughs in the “reanimating Ibsen” article today! I finished off the section on Ibsen’s body in Sensommer, with some help from Joan Templeton’s Ibsen’s Women and Ivo de Figueiredo’s Henrik Ibsen: Masken (de Figueiredo has a chapter in it called, appropriately enough, “Ibsens kropp”).

I then decided to just jump into the “Ibsen narrative” in The Biographer’s Tale and see what I could make of it. There is A LOT there! I banged out a preliminary analysis of that sequence, thought I’m sure I’ll have to go back to it a number of times.

Unfortunately, I now have to set aside my work for the rest of the afternoon because of another commitment. Bummer! What’s up next, though, is definitely going to be an analysis of Byatt’s inclusion of a photograph from Ibsen’s deathbed in her novel (she shows Galton on his deathbed too–and she’s right, the two men do look remarkably similar). It’s not the same image as this one, but you get the idea:

Copyright: The Norwegian Museum of Cultural History

Here we certainly have “Ibsens kropp” problematized…

Words written: 1238

Leave a Reply

