Reanimation

It has been two full months since I last posted. I wish I could say that it’s because I’ve been so busy writing that I haven’t had time, but that is most definitely not the case. I have had a busy summer filled with family and house activity, and a lot of reading in preparation for what promises to be a very heavy teaching load this term. Other than a few piddling things, I’ve done no research or writing worth posting about. And, unfortunately, with all the teaching I’m scheduled to do, there won’t be much during the fall either. I’m hoping this will balance out come January, however, since then I’ll have six months straight with no teaching or other big commitments. I’ve given myself permission not to look at the cabin book until 2012. So even though I should probably be feeling desperate right now, I’m actually not, since I feel pretty confident I can pull the cabin book together in those six months.

This summer I:

  • did actually finish the Ibsen/Fosse revisions and get the paper submitted, and have even recently returned the proofs to the journal
  • revised the chapter section on Hansen’s “Luren” into a conference paper
  • presented the paper at a conference called “Imagining Spaces and Places” in Helsinki last week
  • gave the chapter section on Collett to a colleague who gave me very useful and extensive feedback (which I haven’t done anything with, other than read through)
  • returned the corrections (not the proofs, that comes later) on my Hamsun article
  • put together and submitted an abstract for the International Ibsen Conference in Tromsø in June 2012. I proposed my analysis of Gatas Gynt from the Peer Gynt book for a panel of 3 papers on adaptations of Peer Gynt
  • had my Bjørnson paper accepted for the conference proceedings volume. I was given the option to expand it, but have decided not to
  • finally attended a performance of Peer Gynt at Gålåvatnet, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and made a pilgrimage to the “Her trefte Per Gynt Bøygen” memorial stone north of Atnasjøen at the foot of the Rondane mountains. Both were memorable experiences that confirmed much of what I had written in my chapter on “emplacing” from the Peer Gynt book
  • came up with two or three smaller Ibsen-related projects (article length), one of which I’m hoping to write up this fall (more below)

So the one Ibsen project I’m thinking of following up on this fall while the book lies fallow is an analysis of two books by a contemporary writer named Niels Fredrik Dahl, Herre (2009) and Henrik og Emilie (2006). Dahl “reanimates” (as Jonathan Dee once said) Ibsen, Wergeland, Welhaven, Collett and Herre in these books (a novel and a play respectively). I’ve written about that phenomenon before, and it continues to fascinate me. In this case, the play was explicitly commissioned as part of the Ibsen Year of 2006, which in itself is interesting. Not quite sure yet where this is going to lead me, but it’s the closest thing to a good idea I’ve had since June, so I’m going with it.

Leave a Reply

