Last gasps

I just can’t seem to quite finish off the article revisions. Today I read the chapter on Nokon kjem til å komme in Hadle Oftedal Andersen‘s Fosse book. He makes some really great points, despite a disastrous introduction, so I’m really glad I read it. Also spent time on the last niggly revisions, and got the article into good enough shape to give to my friend, who’s here visiting at the Ibsen Centre for the week. I’m very anxious to hear what she thinks.

I still haven’t come up with a catchy title, though, and that’s always a bad sign in my writing. I skimmed through Fruen fra Havet looking for a good turn of phrase that fits with what I’m focusing on. The only thing that really caught my eye was “hjem fra Havet,” but I’m just not sure if it adds anything. It would have to be in Norwegian too, since the alliteration is lost in the English translation (Home from the sea). Guess I’ll have to sleep on it tonight. I should probably skim Fosse too, though I do think of this as primarily an Ibsen article.

Tomorrow I’m going to try to catch a performance of A Doll’s House that my friend heard about. I’ve been jonesing for a theater fix, so I’m very excited.

Leave a Reply

