Intertextuality

Since one of the major criticisms of my Fosse/Ibsen article is the lack of a clear theoretical framework regarding intertextuality, I’ve been reading up on the history of the term. I’ve found Graham Allen’s book, Intertextuality (Routledge 2000), to be a very helpful orientation in the history of the development of the term. Somewhat to my surprise (and perhaps even dismay) I’m kind of drawn to the structuralist approaches to the term, namely Genette and Riffaterre.

What I’m really struggling with is how to talk about intertextuality when the author himself (Fosse) categorically denies any conscious intertextual relationship to a hypotext (Ibsen). Both Genette, Riffaterre and a fellow called Jenny all address the problem of the “missing” hypotext in various ways. That’s still not exactly what I’m concerned with, so I’ll continued to read Allen’s overview, in hopes that the problem does come up somewhere. If not, at least I can work further with these three theorists.

Leave a Reply

