>Sunday Scholar

>I was lucky enough to have about three hours to myself this morning before the rest of the family made its appearance. For some reason I was really determined to see if I could get some writing done, rather than just surfing the internet as I usually do over my leisurely breakfast, and lo and behold it worked (and really, it was equally entertaining).

I pretty much rounded off my analysis of the cabin scene in Camilla Collett’s Amtmandens Døttre. There’s some more background information to add, including discussions of the various discourses (Enlightenment, Romantic, Victorian) regarding the cabin, but that will have to wait since I don’t have the sources lined up. I did spend some time skimming the parts describing Norway in Mary Wollstonecraft’s Letters Written During a Short Residence in Sweden, Norway, and Denmark (1796). That’s such a fascinating book, and the attitude she has parallels much of what one finds in Amtmandens Døttre. I’m now up to 2067 words for the chapter, so around 10,000 (and a ton more research) to go.

WORDS WRITTEN: 1056

Leave a Reply

