>Catching up

>I’ve been out of town for a wedding, then sick, then preoccupied with a bunch of other stuff. I did get a tiny bit of work done on chapter one on Tuesday, but I forgot to post about it. I did both some rewriting, adding, and cutting and pasting.

Tonight I’m giving a public lecture on the cabin project, so I spent the entire day putting together my slides for it. I think it was a useful exercise to go through my arguments and try to formulate them for a general audience. I think I was able to articulate one or two of the points I have been trying to make in a useful way, so that’s something at least. Also, I realized that the term “epiphanic culture,” which I’ve been throwing around in my film course because of an article by Mette Hjort, actually relates really well to the cabin project.

I pretty much have all of next week to work uninterrupted, so I’m really hopeful about getting the chapter draft done. Here’s what I have left to do:

  • translate Bjørnson section
  • translate Asbjørsen section
  • re-read Asbjørsen’s Huldreeventyr
  • add more material to Asbjørnsen section
  • revise full chapter for logic and flow
  • consider adding discussions of “Et farligt Frieri” and Daglannet to Bjørnson section

Aside from the book work, I got a really exciting email yesterday morning inviting me to apply for a professor position at a small college within driving distance.

WORDS WRITTEN/ADDED: 721

Leave a Reply

