>Meme

>Academic coach Natalie Houston posted a meme focused on planning for the next eleven months on her blog. I thought it looked like an interesting exercise, so I’m giving it a go here.

  • What do you want to learn this year?

  • What do you want to create this year?

  • What do you want to continue this year?

  • What do you want to let go of this year?

  • What do you want to nurture this year?

  • Who do you want to connect with this year?

  • How do you want to feel this year?

  • Where do you want to spend more time this year?

  • What support do you need this year?

  • What one change do you want to make this year?

  • Who do you want to be this year?

  • 1. LEARN: I’d really like to learn the ropes of university administration in general better, and most especially the things that have to do with instruction. Still after two years here there are so many things that are unclear.

    2. CREATE: That’s easy! A completed cabin book manuscript.

    3. CONTINUE: I want to continue the writing intensity and direction from this fall. I got into a really great groove that I’m hoping to recreate asap.

    4. RELEASE: Social awkwardness?

    5. NURTURE: That’s easy too. I want to nurture the scholarly potential of the two MA students whom I’m lucky enough to be advising this term. It’s so rare that I get to work with graduate students…

    6. CONNECT: I’d like to connect with people in other departments more.

    7. FEEL: I want to feel productive and positive.

    8. TIME: I want to spend more time working from home. Not sure if that’s possible. And I want to spend time in the US with family and friends.

    9. SUPPORT: The greatest support I can get is uninterrupted time to write. Even on a postdoc it can be hard to carve it out.

    10 WHO: The author of four books and thirty peer-reviewed articles. A good mother. A better spouse than I have been recently. A more attentive (grand)daughter. A strong role model for my MA students. A supportive and trustworthy colleague.

    Leave a Reply

    