>Serendipity

>Today was an almost uninterrupted day of work on the book. I added a bunch of citations to the bibliography and worked on chapters three and four. I’ve now passed 54,000 words and 180 pages, and there are still quite a few bits and pieces to add here and there.

Another book I had requested from ILL finally arrived, Robert Millar’s Norges tredje turist attraksjon from 1945. It is freaking hilarious. I’m so glad it arrived, and I’ve already processed it (it’s only 44 pages) and added a section to chapter four. 

Serendipitously, a colleague who has written an article that I didn’t know about on Ivo de Figueiredo’s Slipp meg happened to see it on my desk. She told me about her article, and I promptly read it. It’s quite good, and is actually one of the few scholarly analyses that I’ve found that supports my argument about the ways that PG is used to produce meaning. I’m so glad she happened to stop by my office today!

Oh, I almost forgot to add that I made a kind of snap decision today while walking back from the library: I had been thinking that I would just send the manuscript directly to number one publisher as soon as it was done, but today I decided I really should follow protocol and send an inquiry first. I sent it both by email and regular mail. I think it was a good idea to get the idea of the book planted in their heads asap, while I continue to polish the manuscript for a few weeks more.

PAGES/WORDS WRITTEN: 706 or thereabouts

Leave a Reply

